Kimber...and?

This is a discussion on Kimber...and? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So it appears I'm going to be in the market for a decent/good 1911 style pistol. I've always had a thing for Kimbers and as ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kimber...and?

Distinguished Member Array pcon's Avatar

Kimber...and?

So it appears I'm going to be in the market for a decent/good 1911 style pistol. I've always had a thing for Kimbers and as of now, that's what I'm looking at for a new EDCC. I was thinking the Ultra Carry II.

My question is, what other options are there? I'm just getting into a 1911 style gun, so I'm not sure what I'm getting into. I'd like to stay around the $800-$1500 mark and still want a good quality handgun. Any suggestions? Comments or concerns?

- P
    Μολὼν λαβέ

memento mori

2. Remove Ads

I've got a Kimber Pro-Carry and a Springfield Loaded. Both are very good. The Kimber has a slightly nicer finish on visible parts, but hey, it's concealed. I know there are other good quality choices, but in my experience, you can be confident with either of these.
    Still Clingin'

I personally love my Ultra Carry, but it's below your price range. I guess by the time you stock up on ammo, a few holsters, and a good belt, you would be in the general vicinity. The Ultra Raptor would be another to consider if you are set on Kimber.

Nighthawk, Fusion, Les Baer, etc would be closer to your 800-1500 price range.
    There are two sides to every issue: one side is right and the other is wrong, but the middle is always evil.

http://miscmusings.townhall.com/

Who is John Galt?

Senior Member Array KevinDooley's Avatar
    If I were to buy a new 1911 in this price range specifically for CC... I'd get a Dan Wesson CBOB... a commander sized weapon with a bobtail should conceal great! Now, as for how it would compare to a Kimber, no clue...
    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes