Old Eyes Require New Gun - Range Report Added

This is a discussion on Old Eyes Require New Gun - Range Report Added within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I turned 61 in January and that means I have been wearing glasses for over 50 years and bi-focals for at least 15 years. So ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Old Eyes Require New Gun - Range Report Added

VIP Member

I turned 61 in January and that means I have been wearing glasses for over 50 years and bi-focals for at least 15 years. So I finally admitted to myself what I had known for a while - I can't see well enough through my glasses to shoot as well as I want to. I wear lineless bi-focals and to focus on the front sight I have to sight right through the section of my lens where the transition from distance vision to close takes place. I read the instrument panel in the car the same way. One difference is that being right handed and left eye dominant means that I am only using one eye to see the front sight. All it takes is a little slip of the glasses or any minor head movement to take the front sight out of focus. That is a pain and in the right situation a major problem. Having admitted the need for a better way to shoot I had to figure out what to do.

I have seen Todd Jarrett's commercials for Crimson Trace dozens of times or rather I had glimpsed and ignored his commercials dozens of times. Now that I was looking for a sighting system I actually stopped and paid attention. I did some research and decided that I would get a set of Crimson Trace laser grips.