10MM auto

This is a discussion on 10MM auto within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Iam relatively new to the pistol market, I have been carring for about six months. I have a few questions about the 10mm auto. Do ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 10MM auto

10MM auto

Iam relatively new to the pistol market, I have been carring for about six months. I have a few questions about the 10mm auto. Do any of you cary one? Can you buy the ammo in jhp? I have done a little reading on it and found that the cartridge was deemed too powerful for the FBI. Iam interested in this cartridge because i have been told that it is an accurate one. Also what manufactures offer pistols chambered in this round? All feedback is appreciated.
    “Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote!” - Ben Franklin

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I own a 10, but don't carry it.

You can find any type of round you want for it from lead reloads to FMJ and JHP. No problem there.

Colt makes a 1911 versio. SW and Glock make the more popular models in 10.

I personally like the cartridge, but it got scarcer and more expensive when the FBI went away from it. Many or most of the other agencies that had gone to it also jumped ship shortly thereafter. It's a good SD round if you don't mind the weight and recoil. Going with a .45 is easier because the ammo is cheaper and more prevalent and the firearm choice is much more extensive.
    eschew obfuscation

The only thing that stops bad guys with guns is good guys with guns. SgtD

VIP Member
    I have a Smith & Wesson 1066 that I carried for all of 2007 and most of 2008. I quit carrying it because I wanted more capacity in my pistol. I really do like the 10mm.