Looking to purchase my first gun!

This is a discussion on Looking to purchase my first gun! within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey guys, I haven't introduced myself yet, so I mine as well kill a few birds with one stone and do so here. I'm Michael ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking to purchase my first gun!

Looking to purchase my first gun!

Hey guys, I haven't introduced myself yet, so I mine as well kill a few birds with one stone and do so here. I'm Michael from California and I'm an experienced knife fighter. I dual wield a Spyderco Endura on my strong side and a Byrd Cara Cara on my weak side, both with the wave modification. They are always with me. Any questions about knife fighting and I'd be honored to help. There is a lot of misinformation out there about the proper grip, stance, etc.

As far as guns go, I'm a complete beginner. When I was 18 years old, I took a handgun safety course or some such at a local gun store/range and fired a .357 magnum and some sort of Glock I believe, but that and internet research/watching videos is about as far as my experience and knowledge goes.

What I'm looking for is a pistol that can achieve three things:

1) self-defense/home-defense

2) entertainment/practice (range use)

3) easy to carry/conceal (if I move or something)

4) simplicity (love things that work just as good as something with a bunch of parts or better but have few parts themselves)

Unfortunately, I live in California so the third one doesn't really apply to me at this time. If I could CCW, I would honestly be the happiest guy on this planet. I have my knives though, and I know I could kill a threat with ease within a pretty large radius, but there's a time and place for all things and each has it's advantages and drawbacks in a given situation and I want to be as prepared as possible for anything.