Defensive Carry banner

Can I have a recommendation??

2K views 17 replies 16 participants last post by  gilraen 
#1 ·
hey guys,

Im fairly new to guns but Im about to turn 22 and I want to get my Conceal license in a year. Currently I dont own any guns and have only shot my friends' weapons. I want something that I can shoot at the range but that is still concealable. However, I am physically disable (minor cerebral palsy) and I dont have the best balance in the world so I dont want to carry around a huge cannon. I have it narrowed down to either a .380 or a 9mm. I dont want a gun that recoils so hard that it will knock me over and I want to practice regularly, so it needs to be fairly easy to shoot. Do you all have any recommendations?

Thanks,

Brian

#2 ·
I recommend that you take one of the NRA first steps class on gun orientation. They go over choosing a gun that is right for you.

Check out your local gun store and range and try shooting a few rentals during a quick lesson and see what you start to like as far as size and caliber.

Good luck!

#3 ·
Welcome from Utah.

As far as a .380acp I would suggest a Sig P232. It gives you 7+1 capacity andis light and very accurate, reliable and very high quality. As far as 9mm, look at the Sig P239, It gives you 8+1 capacity, and a great trigger. Both are very easily concealable. Ther are MANY other great guns out there, these are my first choice in these calibers, they may not be right for everyone though.

#5 ·
I agree with GreenHorn, take a class and learn about guns. The best way to know what you want and like in a gun is by going to your local range that rents guns. Hold and get a feel for lots of different guns and find out what fits/feels best. Then go shoot the ones that feel good, this will help you know what is comfortable to shoot. And it's a lot of fun!

#6 ·