Springfield 1911-A1 GI .45

This is a discussion on Springfield 1911-A1 GI .45 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been debating about trading my Glock 36 for a Springfield 1911 GI. Has anyone had any experience with these guns? Being a Springfield I ...

Thread: Springfield 1911-A1 GI .45

Distinguished Member Array Pro2A's Avatar

Springfield 1911-A1 GI .45

I've been debating about trading my Glock 36 for a Springfield 1911 GI.

Has anyone had any experience with these guns? Being a Springfield I know its a quality gun, I just want a review before I trade my Glock and/or buy a new one outright.

Thoughts?

2. Remove Ads

I have one and it is a nice piece, as is your 36, while I don't presently own a glock, be sure you are willing to give up the light weight of the 36 for the all steel Springfield. I carry a fullsize 1911 every day and in the evening as well, with the understanding that I could carry a lighter weapon, I appreciated the handling, history, and shootability of the 1911. Had a 36, and sold it to buy a 1911, but will probably get a 36 again someday.

Have one. Love it. Carried it daily for two years. (Switched to an XD about two years ago.)
    It's a GI 1911. It's heavier then your Glock, but you can use it as a beating stick if things go wrong. It's got a much lower capacity then your Glock, but it's also thin. No, I mean really thin. Like supermodel thin. I never had trouble concealing it and I'm 5'10" and 160lbs.
    If you've got any other questions let me know.
    TSgt. Lickey

It takes a college degree to break'em;
    and a high school education to fix'em!