Noob question about carrying condition 1..

This is a discussion on Noob question about carrying condition 1.. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, so i have a SA 1911 that I carry CCW. I just started carrying on Sat, so I am new to this. I carry ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Noob question about carrying condition 1..

Noob question about carrying condition 1..

Ok, so i have a SA 1911 that I carry CCW. I just started carrying on Sat, so I am new to this. I carry condition 1, and I notice that the round that I chamber has been compressed a slight bit. I have not really notice this before because the only time I would load the chamber was right before I shot it.

Normally I load the Magazine, chamber a round, eject the magazine, and refill magazine.

I wanted to know if I pull back the slide, put a round in the chamber, push the slide back into position, and insert loaded magazine, would that ruin or wear out the ejector? is that a bad thing to do? I figured that would keep the round from being ressessed from the fead ramp.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks for your advise.
    james
    Active Duty Air Force
    NRA Life Member
    CCW

2. Remove Ads

JD
    Administrator
    It's normal, it's called bullet set back, happens with most if not all autos as a result of the bullet being rammed up the feed ramp.

Direct chambering (manually loaded from slide lock, then inserting the mag) can damage the extractor as it's being forced over the rim of the case.

OK, So how do you get around the bullet set back? do you keep chambering the same round? do you discard, the set back round and chamber another?

I do not keep a round in the chamber at home. so what would you guys do?

James
    Active Duty Air Force
    NRA Life Member
    CCW

Just rotate rounds and then fire them from time to time. Every time I eject a round, I put it towards the bottom of the mag and chamber the next one.