55 weeks for my NY CC - Now I can seriously look for a gun!

This is a discussion on 55 weeks for my NY CC - Now I can seriously look for a gun! within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Well after 55 weeks of waiting around wondering - i received my NYS CC. So now I can actually think about what gun i am ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 55 weeks for my NY CC - Now I can seriously look for a gun!

55 weeks for my NY CC - Now I can seriously look for a gun!

Well after 55 weeks of waiting around wondering - i received my NYS CC.

So now I can actually think about what gun i am really going to buy...

I had been seriously leaning towards a Springfield XD but that seems to be fading very quickly into a Glock. I am considering the 19 and the 23

I am also open to other suggestions although all of the above fit in my hands nicely.

I have a lot of experience shooting other SA pistols but not Glocks, so I must say I am a bit "more respectful" of the glocks due to my lack of experience and knowledge. All of my training with guns has been to keep a safty on at all times so walking around with a hot glock makes me a little nervous but nothing that im sure wont go away after 500 rnds. Just looking for some thoughts on that from others specifically to the safety mechanisms of glocks

The handle safety on the XD was a selling point... Not something that i need to think about disarming if im holding it correctly but one more layer of protection from AD. I do have young kids and i grew up with/have guns so i would never and have never left a firearm in a place that they could get it... but i have a second fence around my pool just to MAKE SURE that nothing ever happens to the people i am carrying a gun to protect :)

I am a professional sales rep - i wear a suit 2-3 times per week if that will influence your opinions on my gun selection.