Rookie Concealed Carrier...looking for gun advice!

This is a discussion on Rookie Concealed Carrier...looking for gun advice! within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey all, I'm new here. I just got my CCL here in Texas, and was going about the grueling task of selecting a handgun to ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rookie Concealed Carrier...looking for gun advice!

Rookie Concealed Carrier...looking for gun advice!

Hey all, I'm new here. I just got my CCL here in Texas, and was going about the grueling task of selecting a handgun to carry. While I've basically grown up with a gun in my hand, I am new to the "concealed" idea and wanted some "seasoned veterans" opinions before I purchase!

In selecting a gun, my criteria, in order, are to be:
    1. Concealability & comfortable concealed carry
    2. Stopping power
    3. Price
    4. Ease of use

I really want something that I can conceal IWB preferrably, possibly shoulder or ankle if I have to. That is why size & weight are two big criteria.

Here is a list of guns I've been considering. Any pros/cons/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

In no order:

Walther PPS
    Kel-Tec PF-9
    Kimber Ultra Carry II
    Para Carry 9
    Glock 26, 27, or 33
    SIG P239
    XD Sub Compacts
    H&K P2000SK

Opinions on these, or any other suggestions? Also, if you have one of these, and an IWB holster or other comfortable way to carry it, please recommend that as well!

Thanks guys!

2. Remove Ads

cmb
    First I would change the order and make reliability #1, from the list you have that shouldn't be an issue... I have learned after a few days my full size 9mm and a full size 1911 aren't uncomfortable.

You may want to add Kahr to your list since you do have some guns over $600. Taurus also has the 709 slim out now.