Range & Carry Report - Kahr PM9

This is a discussion on Range & Carry Report - Kahr PM9 within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello All, I have been carrying my LCP for my pocket pistol choice for about 6 months now ande decided today to give my old ...

Thread: Range & Carry Report - Kahr PM9

Range & Carry Report - Kahr PM9

Hello All,

I have been carrying my LCP for my pocket pistol choice for about 6 months now ande decided today to give my old PM9 another shot. I bought the Kahr in 2003 and used to carry it pocket (front cargo or inside motorcycle jacket in the winter) but somehow talked myself out of carrying it more based on what others had experienced than what I had. I understand there was a recall or too on my series but I never sent it back as I had no reason to in the past.

So today I went to the range with it. It has had, prior to today, approximatly 500 rounds thorugh it. Today I shot a 3 ammo mix of 89 rounds, as follows:

50 rounds - CCI Blazer 115 gr. FMJ
    26 rounds - American Eagle 115 gr. FMJ
    13 rounds - Winchester PP 147 gr. JHP

I shot both magazines, so I alternated from 6 to 7 shot mags, and alternated with all 3 ammo's.

I know 89 rounds isnt a bunch to some, but I had 100% feed, not one issue with any mag not staying open on last shot or any problems with anything else. I thought the Win. ammo might have issues since the bullet is so narrow and "sharp" in appearance but the 13 I fed it with both mag's did fine.

So, I seek the comfort of 9MM over 380 (not ignoring the ammo availability issue) and want to go back to my Kahr.....for now!

Also, I am posting a picture of the target and the gun with holster for pocket carry. Note: The target was fixed at 8 yards (I am not the best shot I know), but of the first 32 shots I had all 32 on the target, in a comfortable self defense pattern, with relatively quick shooting, which is more than I can say with LCP or my wife's 642 S&W.