Range Report No. 5; Skyy CPX-1 9mm:

This is a discussion on Range Report No. 5; Skyy CPX-1 9mm: within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Range Report No. 5; Skyy CPX-1 9mm: My wife shot 50 rounds of CCI Blazer 115gr. FMJ through her CPX-1. She had several FTF's - ...

My wife shot 50 rounds of CCI Blazer 115gr. FMJ through her CPX-1. She had several FTF's - at least one or two per magazine.

I ran 200 rounds of CCI Blazer 115gr. FMJ through my Skyy CPX-1, which shot perfectly. No FTF's. No FTE's. My aim has improved, it shot POA. I was extremely happy with the performance. Despite it's smaller size, my hand felt fine afterwards other than a bit tired. It WAS getting close to "graduating" to CC.

Diagnosis:

Folks, if I get the technical terminology below incorrect, I apologize in advance - I'm still learning all of the various parts and pieces, so bear with me.

Wife's: Dirty feedramp, dirty pretty much throughout. I had skipped cleaning it after the last range visit. Bad boy! Result: Wife has less confidence in it now, rightly. Wife has less confidence in me now, rightly. am in doghouse temporarily. She has a very clean CPX-1 now.

Mine: Upon stripping for cleaning, I had a difficult time removing the slide assembly after removing the disassembly pin. When new, it would slide forward off the front of the gun easily. Today I had to tap it gently. Upon inspection of the rails and slide, I found a crack on the left frame rail, coming from the back end of an oblong hole above the slide stop all the way to the top, and including the steel rail. The portion of the rail forward of the crack was raised slightly and shiny from the action of the slide wearing on it. The slide had matching wear. PO'd! CPX-1 in doghouse. No confidence in it now.

My Skyy will go to Skyy tomorrow for their fix. They have re-engineered the rails apparently. I'm frustrated. I have no confidence in this gun now.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr...........