How do you legally trade guns with someone from another state?

This is a discussion on How do you legally trade guns with someone from another state? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Ok, first off, I want to stay 100% legal, I am not looking for advice to get around the law. I am looking for advice ...

Thread: How do you legally trade guns with someone from another state?

Question How do you legally trade guns with someone from another state?

Ok, first off, I want to stay 100% legal, I am not looking for advice to get around the law. I am looking for advice on how to legally trade my gun. I am not a fan of going to jail.

I want to trade one of my handguns for someone else's handgun. I am a TX resident and they are a Tennessee resident. We each have Drivers license's and CHL's for our own state.

I know that in Texas you can sell/transfer FTF if you both live in Texas and have a TXDL. What I don't know is how to do it with someone from another state.

How would it be possible to do this transfer? I prefer to not ship my gun via FFL and "hope" the other guy ships his gun to me. I would prefer some sort of face to face transaction. I called the local gun dealer and asked if we can both come in and do the background checks/paperwork/etc, but they said no. They said they can accept FFL transfers obviously, regardless of the state it's from.

Suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
    "People willing to trade their freedom for temporary security deserve neither and will lose both." Benjamin Franklin

2. Remove Ads

You each bring your guns to a local FFL. You each call the other's FFL to verify they have the gun. FFLs cross-ship the guns, you each go pick up the new gun at your own FFL and do the required paperwork. You will have to pay shipping and the NICS fee charged by your FFL. Should be simple enough.

Note - I'm not a lawyer, so I would check with a local FFL to be certain.