Help Me With Some Custom Work Choices on My XD

This is a discussion on Help Me With Some Custom Work Choices on My XD within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I recently bought a brand new XD9SC and am about to send it out for some custom work, almost certainly to the Springfield Custom Shop ...

Thread: Help Me With Some Custom Work Choices on My XD

Senior Member Array McPatrickClan's Avatar

I recently bought a brand new XD9SC and am about to send it out for some custom work, almost certainly to the Springfield Custom Shop (quality is terrific, prices are reasonable & warranty remains intact).

I have a few questions, and I am relatively new to firearms so bear with me.

I am going to get a "combat" trigger job, suitable for CHL duty, night sights, hard chromed slide, etc.

1) I'm not sure which upgraded sights to get on my gun. I really like the "glow-in-the-dark" sights on my Kimber TLE II. I am also a fan of fiber optic sights, since my eyes pick them up very quickly, but have only used them on shotguns. I can choose between Trijicon 3-Dot, Heinie Straight 8 Slant Pro or Heinie 3 Dot Pro sights. Any suggestions?

2) I want to shine up the bbl (really like the look of it) but is it worth it to spend $200+ on a custom-installed Bar-Sto bbl at the XD Custom Shop or am I better off just getting it polished?

3) I know this is a "new guy" question but what is the "metal cover" that is in the middle of the slide (i.e. where you would slide a gun lock cable through or physically inspect for "clear") called?

Any other suggestions for work to consider would be welcome, as I am hoping to make this a one-time event (i.e. I do not plan to send this gun back to Springfield again).

Thanks!

Sights are very personal. hard to give adice on them
    Good trigger job never hurts
    The thing on the slide is the ejection port.

I sure others will have good ideas
    Don't believe what you hear and only half of what you see!