Defensive Carry banner

Gun for the Wife?

3K views 32 replies 22 participants last post by  Paymeister 
#1 ·
I am new to hand guns (Sig SP2022) and my wife wants to get a pistol also. Problem is, she does not seem to like the recoil and noise of my 9mm. We both agree that she will pick out the pistol for her, but I am trying to do research for both of us. She has fired a rented Walther P22 and seems to like the size of the gun, the little recoil, etc. Would this be a proper pistol for her to start with, and eventually carry in her purse? I know it is not as good for sd as a 9mm or larger, but, something small is better than nothing at all, isn't it?

Due to heredity, she has some difficultly racking my 9mm and holding the large gun steady on a target.

Opinions and advice appreciated. Thanks.

#3 ·
You might try some of the .38 caliber snubbies made for the "weaker sex". The Charter Arms "Pink Lady" comes to mind. The .38 can be bought in some pretty light loads. Get her started on a light load with something she can handle and you might be able to up the load a little at a time. For a beginner any handgun they can handle is better than a handgun they can't. The 9MM/38 Special/380 are all the same basic diameter.

#5 ·
Well, there are a lot of things to really be considered.

Many factors such as age, body size or type, go into whether or not someone is incapable of operating the slide or just hasn't become physically fit or strong enough to operate the slide. A lot of the slide manipulation can be just as much technique as it is physical strength.

Stepping down in caliber from 9mm does not necessarily mean recoil will be easier for her to manage. Smaller calibers such as .380 or .32 tend to come in smaller packages which has a direct correlation as to felt recoil. For example, most full size 9mm pistols are often easier to handle than say a .380 Ruger LCP.

A revolver in 9mm, .32 H&R, or .38 Spl may be an option as opposed to a semi-automatic pistol as well.