Defensive Carry banner

Looking for a practice gun.

1K views 13 replies 13 participants last post by  rottkeeper 
#1 ·
First I would just like to say hello to all the forum members. Alright and now my question. I have little knowledge of guns but am interested in learning about guns and safe handling/using of guns. Some time in the future I would like to buy a Ruger LCP, but before buying the LCP I would like to buy a similar model gun in a .22 cartridge. And why I would like to do this is considering .22 ammo is much cheaper and more easily available it would make practicing things much easier.
So I guess what I would like to know is if I first buy a .22 semi auto and practice alot with that would it closely mimic the Ruger lcp in .380 close enough? Or would they be way to different considering the larger caliber .380 to get enough practice to be able to proficiently use the Ruger when I finally buy one? Or would the results from practicing with the .22 not mimic the .380 enough that I would have to start all over again when I get the Ruger?
And if it would be a good idea to get a .22 first can you please offer any suggestions on what would be a good one to get. I'm not sure if I should get a model that is the same size as the LCP or would it not make a difference. I'm not looking to spend a heap on a .22 but I'm also not looking for a piece of junk. So hey any suggestions that anyone has I would greatly appreciate them. Cheers mateys:bier:.

#2 ·
Look at the Beretta Bobcat model 21 in .22lr for something close in size. I am not a big fan of using a .22 to mimic or practice with due to recoil being more felt in the centerfire firearm in such a small size. I am not saying it is useless, but I never perceived any benefit in my shooting.

#3 ·
Welcome to the forum ! Here you will find very friendly people and all the info you could want.