First time carrier. Got a couple questions

This is a discussion on First time carrier. Got a couple questions within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; well hey everyone I am looking to get a couple questions answered on my first carry weapon. this past summer me and my brother went ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First time carrier. Got a couple questions

well hey everyone I am looking to get a couple questions answered on my first carry weapon.

this past summer me and my brother went and took our chl course and i just got my permit or license whatever you wish to call it.
    when i got my license i started thinking about what gun i should get and well as of now I'm not sure on where to start.

as far as what i should consider when trying to find a reliable carry, like the pluses and negatives to carrying an semi auto compared to a revolver.

now i have hunted since i was 12 so I'm no newbie when it comes to firearms, but when it comes to finding a carry weapon thats a different story.

so the couple questions i have are:
    if a revolver the pluses and negatives to hammerless as to with a hammer?

aspects i should consider when looking at finding the right one.

so more or less the little things.

i don't want to go with a caliber lower than a .380.

i do own a xd 40 5 in barrel and a s&w 38 special.

the one pistol that i like a lot is the sp101 it feels great in my hand but anyways, sorry about the long post hope to hear from some of all.

thanks for all the help!!!!!

Distinguished Member Array C9H13NO3's Avatar
    If you go with a revolver, I would get hammerless. it still has a hammer, it's just covered with a shroud. This helps keep it from snagging on clothing, which is helpful especially if you pocket carry.