My carry gun, can't cut it anymore...

This is a discussion on My carry gun, can't cut it anymore... within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Here's the deal everyone, I been shooting a Firestorm .380 for about a year now and unless I miss my count I have about 2100 ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Here's the deal everyone, I been shooting a Firestorm .380 for about a year now and unless I miss my count I have about 2100 flawless rounds down the pipe. However 3 months ago I started shooting KPDL which is a monthly steel target match here in Kentucky. My problem lies with the .380 shell. It just doesn't have enough power to knock down the steel. For example I shot the same target 8 times, an entire mag and still, it stood mocking me. Most of the time the .380 gets the job done, but the other 20% it leaves me wanting a more powerful round. So, I have been shopping!

I have decided to get a new 9mm carry gun and I have narrowed it down to 3 choices. My requirements were, 9mm single stack, 24-27 oz, 3 to 3.5 inch carrel, DAO or DA/SA. That's it and here is what I found.

Kahr K9

S&W 3913 NL

Para Ordinance Carry 9

The weapons are all very close in weight and size, cost is close enough with about a 100$ spead between them. What I need to know is which gun would be the best value for the money. Which one won't need 8 trips back the factory, and gunsmith to get working. They are all very nice in my hands, help me out here. Thanks
    "The 280z, is more like a skittish, half broken bronco, that requires constant attention, challenges your driving ability and will literally ride the driver hard and put him away wet."
    -Hybridz.org

I like them in teh order that you have them posted, but I would only carry the 2nd one as the 1st is associated with the Moonies and I think the 3rd is Canadian.