Trigger Pull Question

This is a discussion on Trigger Pull Question within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I don't have a trigger gauge and I'm not very experienced at judging trigger pull weights. I have two firearms. A Smith & Wesson 642 ...

Thread: Trigger Pull Question

Trigger Pull Question

I don't have a trigger gauge and I'm not very experienced at judging trigger pull weights. I have two firearms. A Smith & Wesson 642 and a Kahr CW9. Can anyone give me an idea of what the stock factory trigger pull weights are? I'm guessing the Smith might be 9 or 10 and the Kahr somewhat less...but I'm not really sure.

2. Remove Ads

I took a look at some vintage test reports in Gun tests magazine. For S+W J-frame snubs two DAOs had trigger pulls of 12 and 14 pounds. Six others had DA trigger pulls of 13-16 pounds and SA pulls of 3-5 pounds.

The Kahr P9 (same trigger as the CW9) measured 8.5 pounds in the GT test.

All those are measured right out of the box. I think a 12-pound pull on a 20-ounce gun is a lot!

But remember - trigger weight by itself is insufficient to judge how "good" a trigger is. The length of the trigger stroke, creep, crispness of letoff, overtravel, stacking - all those characteristics need to be considered as well, and many are subjective.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

Thanks for the info gasmitty. The 642 is fairly new and I dry fired it about 1000 times to smooth the spring out. As it's a EDC for me, I'm not overly concerned about the hefty pull, but I do wish it wasn't quite as long of a stroke until it fired.

Senior Member Array mr surveyor's Avatar