You pick the gun

You pick the gun

This is a discussion on You pick the gun within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; By way of introduction, I am a former police officer, now an attorney, and I wear a suit every day. Often I go to courts ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: You pick the gun

You pick the gun

By way of introduction, I am a former police officer, now an attorney, and I wear a suit every day. Often I go to courts where I have to luck up my piece with the court officers or in my car.

These are my requirements
    1) 100% reliable
    2) concealble in a pocket holster or perhaps an ankle rig (I take off my coat at work, and can't be seen armed at the water cooler, or even a shoulder holster for that matter!)
    3) sufficient stopping power

ok, I currently have a Glock 26 which may very well be the perfect choice, also I have a Beretta Model 21 (.22)

ideally I would love to carry the Beretta, because I love the light weight
    HOWEVER, .22 is obviously not ideal, altough I believe that it would put down the perp (Hinckley ring a bell?), also, the Beretta is picky with ammo, and although I know it likes hot rounds it, it is still prone to jamming

the Glock is probably a great choice, although it is a little heavy in the pocket

anyhoo, let's hear what you have to say...

I am considering perhaps a Model 340PD Revolver (the lightest .357)

whatta ya'll think?
    Last edited by matisyahu; November 5th, 2009 at 06:46 PM.

Distinguished Member Array ripley16's Avatar
    When I have to conceal under difficult conditions, I carry my tiny Seecamp LWS32. Very reliable, very concealable in a pocket, on a ankle or even on a belt...IWB.

I am thinking 642/442

Any of the S&W alloy frame revolvers with shrouded hammer or Ruger LCR.
    Good people do not need laws to tell them to act responsibly, while bad people will find a way around laws. Plato