The Gun You Want, vs. the Gun You Need..

This is a discussion on The Gun You Want, vs. the Gun You Need.. within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Okay, this is a departure for me- I do not initiate threads much, and I am not an expert like many on this board. (I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: The Gun You Want, vs. the Gun You Need..

Member Array chiefs-special-guy's Avatar

Okay, this is a departure for me- I do not initiate threads much, and I am not an expert like many on this board. (I know lots about old shotguns, but not so much about pistols or self-defense). Anyway, I have a CONJECTURE. It's origin is in my observation of guys who collect and shoot older shotguns, believe it or not. I know many folks who have a gun they really like- usually an older sidelock side-by with way too short a stock, too much drop, too little weight, short chambers, often a small bore with steep cones, etc. They love the gun, take it afield, and shoot it poorly. They have an image in their minds of themselves, shooting that gun at driven birds in Scotland or something. In this vision, they shoot it well, sort of like Lord Ripon I suppose. But of course they do not shoot it so well. (I am somewhat guilty of this also.) They desperately want to shoot it well- they love the gun, and they wish it loved them back. But it doesn't. And it won't.