Am I thinking wrong here?

This is a discussion on Am I thinking wrong here? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have a Ruger P345 and a SA XD-40. I have been finding it difficult to get a consistent grip on either gun. Thus resulting ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Am I thinking wrong here?

Am I thinking wrong here?

I have a Ruger P345 and a SA XD-40. I have been finding it difficult to get a consistent grip on either gun. Thus resulting in non-consistant shooting.

I have shot a SA 1911 well and very consistant.

I am thinking about trading in both of my weapon for 1 1911. I will put 100 rds through it before I buy it.

I just keep trying to get a consistant grip and I know the problem is me. I have been shooting both weapons for over 3 months.

But, if I can get a good consistant grip on a 1911, wouldn't that be the better way to go? Instead of trying to learn a grip on either of the weapons, get a weapon that I can get a good grip on and become proficent with it.

Then if I want another weapon, get one and learn a grip for that weapon.

Am I making this more complicated than it is? or does this make some sense? Thoughts?

The only downside to the 1911 is round capacity, but a clip holder will resolve that.

2. Remove Ads

If you find you really like the 1911, there are double stack ones available so you can get that round capacity back up.

I switch back and forth between two carry pistols, a Steyr S40 and a Kahr MK9 ... they both grip VERY differently (different grip angles as well as grip lengths) so I understand the non-consistant problem you're having.

VIP Member
    Unless you are a collector of some sort, I think it's a great idea. Find a gun that fits you naturally as a carry gun. You will be able to acquire a target faster and feel more comfortable shooting it.