General assistance

This is a discussion on General assistance within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I will soon be a new and casual owner of a semi auto or revolver. I have 2 questions I hope I can get some ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: General assistance

General assistance

I will soon be a new and casual owner of a semi auto or revolver. I have 2 questions I hope I can get some help with. Is a semi auto better or a revolver better for me? I am most concerned with keeping a magazine full so long that 1) the ammo goes stale, if this is possible, and 2) will this practice make the spring lose strength? I know one answer will be to shoot a lot but I just do not have the opportunity to do this so I need these questions answered so I can make the best decision about which firearm to buy. Thank you.

2. Remove Ads

I'm no expert, but if you go with the semi-auto, here's a suggestion:
    Get a couple extra magazines, and just swap them out from time to time. I usually shoot the ammo I keep in my self-defense weapons once a month, but that may not be necessary. I have shot pistol ammo at the range that was many years old, and it caused no problems. It had been kept dry, and had no apparent corrosion, and the gun functioned just fine. I know it's not what you meant, but owning a gun is not a casual thing. Be safe, get as much practice as you can, and good luck!
    " In theory, reality and theory are the same. In reality, they are not."

GLOCK G23, KAHR CW9, RUGER LCP, TAURUS PT92, TAURUS 689, MOSSY 500

NRA member