Too weak to pull DA trigger?

This is a discussion on Too weak to pull DA trigger? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; My fiance and I are in the process of getting our CCWs and arming ourselves. I bought a Charter Arms 357, it has a full ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Too weak to pull DA trigger?

Too weak to pull DA trigger?

My fiance and I are in the process of getting our CCWs and arming ourselves. I bought a Charter Arms 357, it has a full external hammer but is a DA/SA firearm. We went to shoot a few rounds through it, using lighter .38s, and she was unable to pull the trigger in DA. I have little experience with handguns, and I know this gun is a little large for her hands (feels good in mine), but is this common? I don't have much experience to gauge the trigger on, but I don't think its excessively heavy. We're definitely going to a range to shoot some candidate firearms before she buys any, so we'll know if she can shoot it or not. I've done a lot of reading, and feel a revolver would be better than a semi auto (she agrees). So should we look hard for a lighter trigger (as long as its factory) in a revolver, get something with a hammer that she can cock, go semi auto, or try to get her stronger.

I'm not really looking for advice as to why my charter is inferior to Smith, Colt, Ruger, Taurus, etc. I have my reasons for buying it and am happy with the purchase. Also this girl is tougher and stronger than most, a good Kentucky farm girl who has thrown her share of hay and can keep up with me doing pretty much anything. This is why we both want her to have a CCW, she is simply weaker than most criminals out there.
    Be Prepared

2. Remove Ads

Administrator