SIG SAS and DAK?

This is a discussion on SIG SAS and DAK? within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello. I'm new to guns and this is partly I'm asking. I know the difference between a double action only (DOA like my Glock) and ...

Thread: SIG SAS and DAK?

SIG SAS and DAK?

Hello. I'm new to guns and this is partly I'm asking. I know the difference between a double action only (DOA like my Glock) and single action only (SAO like a 1911), but what's this I see on the SIG website for SAS and DAK? I know they have single action versions because I've seen them, but I'd like some elaboration if that's alright. I've been looking at the p239.
    On duty: Glock 21 SF (.45) w/ Safariland Cobra Tactical holster & Remington Hallow-points
    CCW: Glock 19 Gen 3 (9mm) w/ Crossbreed Supertuck IWB holster
    Magtech Hollow-points

2. Remove Ads

Without a huge elaboration (try a search), DAK is Sig's version of a DAO trigger. SAS means Sig Anti Snag. It basically is Sig's treatment of the gun to round off all the sharp lines an edges to make for a better concealed carry gun.

Hoss
    Sig 239 SAS 40 S&W / Sig 239 9mm / Kahr PM-9 / Walther PPS .40 / Sig P-245 / Ruger LCP
    Beretta Tomcat / Walther PPK / BDA 380 / Taurus 85 / Kel-Tec PF-9 / Am. Derringer 357

NRA Life Member
    My Web Site

Distinguished Member Array C9H13NO3's Avatar
    The SAS stands for Sig Anti-Snag. They do the "melt job" on the slide, and dehorn other things like the sights and hammer. It is a Double Action/Single Action pistol, so it's going to fire DA if the hammer is down, and SA if it's cocked.