First real range experience with my new XD

This is a discussion on First real range experience with my new XD within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to handguns, but did my best to adhere to what i've been shown/studied on proper techniques for weaver stance and grip. I'd like ...

Thread: First real range experience with my new XD

I'm new to handguns, but did my best to adhere to what i've been shown/studied on proper techniques for weaver stance and grip. I'd like to say that it's working.

Before hitting the range tonight, i'd shot approx 100 rounds through my XD40sc, and felt quite inadequate in my shooting ability. I think the types of 'ranges' that i've shot at with my XD are partly to blame (local crowded outdoor range was uncomfortable, and deseret blasting at cans and bottles). Doug's Shoot'n Sports in Murray UT has a far better atmosphere to focus on what you are doing rather than going to the Lee Kay shooting range. This is my observation from a beginner point of view.

My first 50 rounds were garbage reloads, think economy ammo of the economy ammo ~ garbage. 6 out of the 50 didn't even fire, and several emitted large amounts of smoke. My next 100 rounds were the next level up in economy, and all 100 fired flawlessly. Doug's even charged me for the cheapest ammo on the slightly nicer stuff. I didn't mind the kind gesture. ;)

Before this range time, the most that I had shot my XD40sc was aiming at plastic bottles etc. I found that to be quite disheartening because I couldn't always determine how far I was off target. When you notice that you're hitting the bottle 1-3 out of 10 rounds at 10 feet, you start to beat yourself up. But the shots on a paper taget help to gauge what's going on.