Why buy a G26 when there are G27's & G33's

This is a discussion on Why buy a G26 when there are G27's & G33's within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I’m new to handguns so let me know if this makes since to anyone, or am I missing something. I’m planning on getting new sub ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Why buy a G26 when there are G27's & G33's

I’m new to handguns so let me know if this makes since to anyone, or am I missing something. I’m planning on getting new sub compact Glock sometime next month for ccw, to replace my hi-point.
    I’ve been doing a lot reading and I’m having a hard time deciding what caliber to go with 357 sig, 40, or 9mm. Since I can’t decide my thought is to buy either the 357 or the 40 and get a conversion barrel and mag for 9mm. Since I already have a couple thousand rounds of 9mm, I can get use to the ergo of the gun with 9mm.
    Then start practicing with the 357 or 40 which ever I find. I just doesn’t make sense to me to by the G26 and be locked into 9mm when I can get the G27 or G33 and get two conversion barrels and be able to shot all three calibers.
    I can rent all three at my local range but by the time I pay for 3 rentals, a lane and ammo I can just about have another barrel. Any advice would be great.

Distinguished Member Array razor02097's Avatar
    you can't shoot 9mm out of a G 27 or G 33. (apparently you can)

9mm slides are different then .40 or .357 sig, you would have to replace the slide also to shoot 9mm (forums suggest to replace the extractor for the 9mm to cycle reliably)

the .357 sig is a necked down .40 so the slides will hold both cartridges. The 9mm case is a different size. (but according to glock forums some have successfully shot 9mm with a .40 bolt face.)
    Last edited by razor02097; January 26th, 2010 at 02:37 PM. Reason: information update

You said it man. Not sure why anyone would get a 26 either.

VIP Member