9mm vs .380 for EDC

This is a discussion on 9mm vs .380 for EDC within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello all, I'm new to handguns and a recent CCW permit holder. I'd like to get my first carry gun and am trying to decide ...

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: 9mm vs .380 for EDC

9mm vs .380 for EDC

Hello all,

I'm new to handguns and a recent CCW permit holder. I'd like to get my first carry gun and am trying to decide between a .380 like the LCP or a 9mm. I have read a ton of posts in here and all the choices seem overwhelming! : )

I have been to the shop a few times and held plenty. I have fired the LCP and was surprised by the recoil. I know it's a small gun, but that little booger kicks. Like many folks, the larger guns feel more comfortable to me, but they are more of a challenge to carry.

I really liked the feel of the Springfield EMP and the similar Kimber. I like the Walther .380 because of it's size, but at that size I feel like I should just go 9mm.

Any help in clearing this fog is appreciated!

2. Remove Ads

RPB
    lighter guns and heavier bullets and +P ammo make more recoil

You would have less recoil in a heavier gun, but then you have a less concealable gun

You have less recoil with lighter bullets, and they penetrate less.

You have less recoil with standard pressure instead of +P and they penetrate less and won't wear out a gun as fast as +P can.

If you want .380, Look at the Diamondback DB380, locked breach and low bore axis and a strong recoil spring make it kick less.

.380 is really more of a backup gun or a gun for when you are in Tennis shorts and your every day gun won't conceal well..... 9mm is better.

If you can handle a Kahr's price, the Kahr PM9 is nice, it is fairly light weight, so for less recoil you might try a NON-+P 115 grain (lighter weight) bullet like #90250 9MM Hornady Critical Defense 115 gr. JHP or #23614 Gold Dot Personal Protection