Turning 21 soon - need advice

This is a discussion on Turning 21 soon - need advice within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi guys, Before I begin, I'd like to thank everyone for the amount of information available on this forum. It's almost been overwhelming studying some ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Turning 21 soon - need advice

Turning 21 soon - need advice

Hi guys,

Before I begin, I'd like to thank everyone for the amount of information available on this forum. It's almost been overwhelming studying some of these threads. I'm a 20 year old student in Arizona. I plan to take my CCW course in the months before my 21st birthday, and apply for my CCW license as soon as possible. I own a couple of rifles, but not any handguns. I'd like to purchase a carry-capable handgun when I turn 21. I have the budget of a student though - so I'd like to list a couple of ones that I like so far and hear your expert opinions.

Kahr CW9

Glock 26 9mm Night Sights - the more expensive of the few. This would come just under $600. Not sure that I want to spend that much.

Ruger SR9c - heard they have barrel peening issues. Any credence to that? Though some people seem to complain about it, I like the fact that it has the flip safety as well as the trigger safety.

Taurus 709 Slim

I'm planning on attending the Crossroads of the West gunshow in Phoenix this weekend. Can I expect to save any money there? It's my understanding that it is legal for me to purchase a handgun from a private party.

Thanks in advance everyone,

Tyler,
    Arizona

2. Remove Ads

Buy 2 or 3 times 'cheaper' and not be satisified, buy more expensive once and be happy...buy the Glock-26...dependability right out of the box.
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]

Distinguished Member Array razor02097's Avatar