Made a dumb mistake yesterday...

This is a discussion on Made a dumb mistake yesterday... within the Defensive Carry Guns forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Yesterday I was dry firing, but did not go to my safe room to dry fire. I dropped the magazine, racked the slide, and dropped ...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Made a dumb mistake yesterday...

Yesterday I was dry firing, but did not go to my safe room to dry fire. I dropped the magazine, racked the slide, and dropped a pen in the barrel to ensure that the gun was safe. I did my dry firing then went and got my magazine and put it back in the gun(condition 3), then went back to working at my desk. Later I picked up my gun again to dry fire a few more times, pulled the trigger, heard the click then racked the slide, feeling the sickening feeling of a bullet moving into the chamber. I flipped out and unloaded the gun and put it in the safe.

I am new to shooting and know my four rules, yet I disobeyed pointing it in a safe direction. I know I am smarter than that but it really made me realize that one simple mental hiccup could bring very grave consequences. I have also been handling my gun too much because of the "newness" of it. Either way this was irresponsible of me and I just wanted to post here and get it off my chest.

I will not keep live ammo in my dry fire area from now on.

The gun will only leave the holster to leave the safe, at the range, or in my dry fire area with no ammo around. I guess the big question I am asking myself is should I really continue to own this firearm after this negligence. I could have hurt myself or god forbid someone else. I have had a hard time dealing with this and would like some others input.

Dan