Concealed Carry Basics

Concealed Carry Basics

This is a discussion on Concealed Carry Basics within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to the CCW community and haven't bought a gun or a holster yet. I am considering a Sig 229 or 220 as I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Concealed Carry Basics

Concealed Carry Basics

I'm new to the CCW community and haven't bought a gun or a holster yet. I am considering a Sig 229 or 220 as I like the big bores but I am wondering how they would carry IWB without printing. Correct me if I am wrong but it seems that the hardest part of a weapon to conceal is the handle as the barrel will go along the body so barrel length wouldn't be as big of a concern as the handle. Am I right? Thoughts? Any and all wisdom is appreciated!!!!!

You're correct that the grip poses the greatest challenge and , BTW, finger extensions will present additional issues.
    You'll probably end up with a "holster box" since most gun shops won't stock the holsters which interest you on line, and what looks good on your computer won't work like you expected. You'll have to choose your attire to facilitate concealment (larger belt/pants, looser top, etc.) and experiment with holster positions. My experience is that IBW is NOT comfortable, but is concealable and that the reverse is true of OBW.

Pick your gun, then spend time on the various forums searching for owners experiences with their holsters. And remember, you get what you pay for, usually: My most comfortable and concealable holster is a nylon belt slide worn between the belt and the pants which I got for around $20.

Ankle and shoulder rigs present both advantages and disadvantages; they seem to be so specialized that I suggest you not consider them for your initial purchase(s). Good luck and have fun with your search!

Senior Member Array Pure Kustom's Avatar