shoulder holster design and fit questions

This is a discussion on shoulder holster design and fit questions within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; google brought me to this site. i've been reading alot of good info here. all i can say is WOW! this is the one to ...

Thread: shoulder holster design and fit questions

shoulder holster design and fit questions

google brought me to this site. i've been reading alot of good info here. all i can say is WOW! this is the one to surf.

although i'm not new to firearms, being an avid hunter for most of my life. i am new to self defence weapons. i've been practicing some basic sd handgun techniques. as such, i have taken my state required classes and applied for my cpl. currently waiting for the mailman. i'm also going to take some formal training classes. the more i learn about self defence the less i find out i know.

my main motivation besides living in the detroit metro area, is to have abit more than a bow and buck knife while i'm in one of michigans deep dark swamps. believe me when i say that my guardian angle has stepped in more than once.

for a first sd weapon i chose a smith M&P compact in .357sig. very happy with this tool.

i'm considering a shoulder holster for my hunting carry. mainly for comfort and also to help keep the sticks, dirt and pine needles out of the action. it will be carried under heavy jackets and/or sweatshirts and most always over several underlayers.

price is allways a concern, but shelling out my hard earned economy stimulators for a holster that fits my needs is acceptable.

my questions are as follows:

i'll be spending all day in this rig running an obstacle course. what is more comfortable. leather or nylon?

i'm sure the strenght of this rig will be tested during the course of hunting.

nylon or leather straping?

metel or is some kind of nylon hardware acceptable for durability?