Smart Carry slung off to the side?

Smart Carry slung off to the side?

This is a discussion on Smart Carry slung off to the side? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been trying to solve the puzzle of 1911 carry in pants and a tucked polo shirt for a while. My latest solution, which I've ...

Lightbulb Smart Carry slung off to the side?

I've been trying to solve the puzzle of 1911 carry in pants and a tucked polo shirt for a while. My latest solution, which I've been using for a couple of months now, is to take a SmartCarry holster, swing it around 90 degrees until the pouch is at the 3:00 or 3:30 position, place the gun in there, and button shirt and pants over all so it disappears.

I can't think of a downside to this method, it seems very secure, doesn't shift around, doesn't mess with the safety, and is the most invisible thing I've ever tried.

Any input on this, something I might be missing?

I think it's a pretty cool idea. What's your draw speed carrying this way?

Distinguished Member Array RSSZ's Avatar
    Like above,I would ask,whats your time to present. This,if I understand you, in that the whole rig is oriented at 3-3:30 inside your shirt that is tucked in and the buttons are at 12:00 o'clock ???? -------

Distinguished Member Array randytulsa2's Avatar
    Not exactly the way the SmartCarry is designed, but, hey, if it works for you, by all means do it!

Assistant Administrator
    Not tried it James but as ever - if it works ........

I think there are numerous rigs and devices which can be used differently - for instance the Action Direct belly band has it seems suited some folks best as a high chest position.

Final results dictate viability, tho here as others mentioned - speed of presentation sounds like it could be a tad slow.
    Chris - P95
    NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.

"To own a gun and assume that you are armed