Ankle carry help

This is a discussion on Ankle carry help within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello all Newbie here I am a carrier of a glock 26, with a backup gun as a glock 26 The reasons, limitations etc are ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Ankle carry help

Ankle carry help

Hello all
    Newbie here

I am a carrier of a glock 26, with a backup gun as a glock 26
    The reasons, limitations etc are probably obvious- but this is my set up. I am to new (and it doesn't make much sense to me honestly) to carry a different primary gun and backup, and I don't have the confidence to commit different muscles to different memories anyway. So this was my decision and compromise.

I prefer to deep conceal carry both with a holster to transition to pocket carry when ready (ie leaving the house etc).

I am experimenting with ankle carry. It is interesting how little I think I print, esp with twin ankles.

But it has been a sometimes painful learning experience! Something I found today that helped a ton was an ACE bandage product called something like self adhesive bandage or something. Comes in thick 4 inch rolls (and other sizes) and unlike regular ACE it lookes very perforated, almost like cheesecloth.

Anyway I found that rolling a single layer in spiral fashion from shin downward then rolling a few layers at that ankle did wonders for me:
    -the ACE layer adds a little comfort and sticks like glue to the holster
    -the extra layers fatten up the ankle
    -the glue effect and fatter ankle keep the holster in place without having to cut off circulation
    -the sock can then be pulled over the holster minimizing problems with exposure and also helping keep things in place
    -I found most of the discomfort and self conciousness I felt with ankle wear was due to movement- eliminate that (even slight movement) and it was a ton better.