Design Question (or 3)

This is a discussion on Design Question (or 3) within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm sitting at my desk doing a mock-up of the "pocket" portion of the holster I wanna try & make (most likely out of cow). ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Design Question (or 3)

Design Question (or 3)

I'm sitting at my desk doing a mock-up of the "pocket" portion of the holster I wanna try & make (most likely out of cow).

This is the 1st one I've come up with. I'm not sure if I'm gonna do IWB or OWB, which is where there's some sketching on the "back-side" of it.

Now in looking at my Don Hume, it seems that there is a "curve" that cuts in ~1/2 way through the body and exposes the trigger a smidge. Is this a mandatory thing, or purely a preferred preference?

I'm new to holsters, but not leatherworking. Any & all feedback welcomed as this is my 1st attempt.
    "Sir, could you please not bleed so much? I have to clean the store after they haul you off and I'd like the rest of my shift, to be, like, you know, better."

2. Remove Ads

The cut does not need to go through the trigger guard but what it does is allow a full hand grip when you go for your gun which needs to be a very important part of your design. The cut also needs to go in front of your mag release, you do not want your leather to cover your mag release. I hope that all makes sense.

I agree, looks like it provides a better grip and stays away from the mag release. I'm actually going to modify my CBST sometime soon due to the leather backing occasionally pressing the mag release. I'm just going to punch a hole in the leather.
    My blog