My first attempt at making my own custom leather holster

This is a discussion on My first attempt at making my own custom leather holster within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Well, with the severe lack of holsters for the Rhino (Other than some skeleton one for $170 bucks!) I figured it would be useful to ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Haystacker

Thread: My first attempt at making my own custom leather holster

My first attempt at making my own custom leather holster

Well, with the severe lack of holsters for the Rhino (Other than some skeleton one for $170 bucks!) I figured it would be useful to learn to make some myself.

This is my first try. I am happy with how it turned out. I made it as a ranch/woods open carry holster. Nothing fancy. Bought some leather and a few supplies, watched some youtube videos and bam... this is what happened:

Some crooked lines... but thats what I get for doing this on my apartment balcony instead of a nice workbench that I hope for one day.
    I realize now that I used leather that was too thin for the body of the holster. Its almost half the thickness of the mouth support leather. Also, Next time I am going to put some support leather around the end.
    I may dye the lighter leather a bit. I am not sure.

I bought some kydex and am going to try to build a hybrid conceal holster next.

2. Remove Ads

all-in-all, (ESPECIALLY for a first attempt) I think you did a pretty decent job. The crooked lines aren't TOO noticable, and it seems functional (main thing). So i'd say you did a pretty good job. Not bad!
    Matthew 10:28 "And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell." ✞

Looks good to me, I don;t even have the courage to try...yet