Defensive Carry banner

At what position do you carry?

What position do you carry? You know like 2:00 etc.

7K views 50 replies 47 participants last post by  multistage 
#1 ·
I am new to CCW. Had my card for a month or so. I suppose it is a personal thing but wondered what position people carry. I am not sure yet was at the 2:30 now at 4:30. :image035:

#7 ·
-
Finally settled on 4:30 strongside with a 25 degree cant after several months of practice draws. You'll find what's right for you & your rig.

#9 ·
This will depend solely on *your* perceived comfort/access/retention requirements, which will be unique to you, as an individual person.

What will bias your selection will be based heavily on your body build, your daily activities, as well as both the physical size of the gun you carry as well as how your support gear (everything from the holster to the belt, to suspenders, and yes, even your pants and cover garment) plays out.

I'm about 6 ft. tall, a porky :embarrassed: 250 lbs on a medium frame - that means I have a bit of overhang on the front, and because of that, AIWB is uncomfortable for me unless I don't plan to sit or bend forward at the waist, all day...that's unfortunate, since I can honestly easily conceal a full-sized autopistol there, with no difficulties at all, with my usual clothing.

While I am of the body-type that would make carry at 4-4:30 very good for concealment, I elected not to carry there due to concerns for retention as well as the fact that I am often seated throughout the day, along with the fact that in being the father of a young child, I am often lowering myself (instead of bending over, which makes printing/exposing even more likely) to reach for dropped items, etc.

I carry at my 3'o-clock, with a severe forward cant.

But YMwillV. :wink: :smile:

#11 ·
2 o'clock-ish :yup:

#15 ·