Are thumb breaks OK? new shooter

This is a discussion on Are thumb breaks OK? new shooter within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to all this and was just wondering if I should get a holster with some sort of thumb break/retention or not? Thanks...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Are thumb breaks OK? new shooter

I'm new to all this and was just wondering if I should get a holster with some sort of thumb break/retention or not?

Thanks

I won't say they are bad, but are totally unnecessary if carrying concealed. (with any holster of even reasonable quality)
    Spend few minutes learning about my journey from Zero to Athlete in this
    Then check out my blog! www.BodyByMcDonalds.com

Cupcake - 100 pound loser, adventurer, Ironman Triathlete.

Welcome to the forum! Thats a really loaded question. I'll try to keep it short and sweet. In my opinion, yes. If you wear a holster that is outside the waistband, having some sort of active security is a good idea. A thumb break, middle finger break, snap etc... are good to have. If you carry in the waistband I dont feel it is needed. Holsters that rely strictly on friction (like a Fobus paddle for example) are far too easily compromised. I use them, but only when extremely well concealed, and on rare instances.

Holster choice also depends very heavily on how you want to carry, and what type of gun you carry. I think the most well rounded and versatile solution for conceal carry is a simple leather pancake holster with a thumb break snap. They conceal very well and allow quick access. There are tons of them out there from the $20 eBay special up to well over $100.