Thoughts on paddle holster carry with suit?

This is a discussion on Thoughts on paddle holster carry with suit? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi everyone. First time poster here. I just recently received my concealed carry license and am looking to buy my first holster for my S&W ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Thoughts on paddle holster carry with suit?

Hi everyone. First time poster here.

I just recently received my concealed carry license and am looking to buy my first holster for my S&W M&P 9mm, full size with a crimson trace laser grip. (Yes, I know the M&P 9mm compact is more concealable but I just didn't care for the way I shot with the gun and how it felt in my hand.)

I work as a prosecutor in a city in Texas. The reason I want to carry concealed should be obvious--I interact with criminals and their families on a daily basis and they tend not to be very happy when I send them or their loved ones to jail. Threats against prosecutors, though rare, do happen. And, as we've all seen in recent months, courthouse shootings also happen from time to time.

Because I'm in court everyday, I wear a suit to work everyday. My concealed carry license is a special one that allows me, unlike civilians, to carry inside the courthouse. However, my office's policy prevents me from carrying inside the actual courtrooms, the idea being that (1) the bailiffs should provide sufficient protection for everyone in the courtroom and (2) a defendant could grab a gun from a prosecutor who has chosen a poor-retention concealed carry option.