first time picking a holster

This is a discussion on first time picking a holster within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; i'm having trouble deciding whether to get a crossbreed super tuck style of holster(i mentioned that particular holster because it's the one i've read really ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: first time picking a holster

i'm having trouble deciding whether to get a crossbreed super tuck style of holster(i mentioned that particular holster because it's the one i've read really good reviews on. and i don't know the correct name for that style.<newb) or something small. i have never worn a holster and am trying to figure out what is the most comfortable style/type to have on all day. i drive my car for a living so i'm constantly in and out of the car. but also sitting/driving in the car for hours at a time. i want to make the best decision i can the first time as i don't have hundreds of dollars to spend on holsters. i guess i'd be wearing it at about 5-5:30. any help is appreciated, thanks.

What are you planning on carrying (gun)? That will make a big difference.

I carry a GLOCK 19 in a Crossbreed Supertuck Deluxe in horsehide (good for sweat resistance) with the combat cut (good for me but not for everyone). I recently took a trip and drove for about 6 hours wearing the CBST, not a problem. The holster seems big but it conforms to your body and distributes the weight of the pistol pretty good. There are a lot of CBST style holsters out there, but Crossbreed is a top-notch company to deal with and stand behind their product.

Almost as important as the holster is a good gun belt. I got one form Crossbreed but there are many good ones out there, not at your local wal-mart or target. Have you considered appendix or cross draw? If you're in the car alot these may be good options for you.
    NRA Life Member