C-Hook vs Standard Over-The-Belt vs Clip Holsters

This is a discussion on C-Hook vs Standard Over-The-Belt vs Clip Holsters within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Looking into buying a Kydex holster & was considering one w/ a c-hook for greater holster concealment on my belt. Anyone have any experience/opinions on ...

Thread: C-Hook vs Standard Over-The-Belt vs Clip Holsters

C-Hook vs Standard Over-The-Belt vs Clip Holsters

Looking into buying a Kydex holster & was considering one w/ a c-hook for greater holster concealment on my belt. Anyone have any experience/opinions on the c-hook vs the more traditional over-the-belt clip?

2. Remove Ads

I’ve got zero experience with “C” hooks, but I have been using “J” hooks with my Kaluban Cloak for my PPQ:

So far, so good, they hold pretty solid. It might be because I’m cinching my belt in pretty tight. They do make the holster a lot easier to get on/off ,and there’s not much of the clips showing under the belt.

Chuck
    homo homini lupus est

C-Clips are great for deep concealment, but if you take your holster on & off they will be a pain because you have to feed your belt through them to put them on and feed it back out to remove. I like the concept of j-hooks, but I kept having my pants creep under my belt due to the weight of the weapon.

I rely on standard clips that came with my Minotaur M-TACs more than any other.
    "I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain."
    - Roy Batty

Just ordered J clips from CB. I am hoping they will hold the rig just as well and give me a little more concealment. The "+" on the standard clip is too visible.

Distinguished Member Array AZJD1968's Avatar