Holster = Confusion

This is a discussion on Holster = Confusion within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi all. I am a newbie that needs some help by way of explanation. I do not currently carry, but will be starting that process ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By WoodLark
  • 1 Post By kapnketel

Thread: Holster = Confusion

Holster = Confusion

Hi all. I am a newbie that needs some help by way of explanation. I do not currently carry, but will be starting that process soon. I have read many threads here and I still don't understand all of the options available as far as holsters go. Way too many acronyms to wrap my head around, so I thought you could help. I know many are self explanatory, but I will list them all so I am clear.

IWB
    AIWB
    IWB Tuckable
    IWB Hybrid
    OWB

I have read many times that it's a personal choice, I just need a little knowledge before I start building my holster drawer

Thanks

2. Remove Ads

Picture in your mind a clock around your waist. 12:00 is straight in front, 3:00 is the your right pants seam, 6:00 is your tailbone, and 9:00 is your left pants seam.

IWB = Inside the Waist Band
    Provides good concealment, but may be uncomfortable for some people.
    Usually worn 3:00 - 5:00 for right handers

AIWB = Appendix Inside the Waist Band (as opposed to being worn on the hip)
    Provides good concealment and very natural draw stroke. Some people have a problem with the direction the barrel is pointing.
    Worn 12:00 - 2:00 for right handers. I wear mine at 10:00 - 11:00 (left-handed).

IWB Tuckable = Inside the waist Band, but you can tuck your shirt between the gun and clip instead of having to leave your shirttails out (doesn't work that well in my opinion, but YMMV (Your Mileage May Vary).