Uncle Mikes vs FoxX

This is a discussion on Uncle Mikes vs FoxX within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am currently carrying my XD9SC in an open uncle mikes IWB holster. It has worked fine, but I do have my doubts about the ...

Thread: Uncle Mikes vs FoxX

Uncle Mikes vs FoxX

I am currently carrying my XD9SC in an open uncle mikes IWB holster. It has worked fine, but I do have my doubts about the cloth expanding and the weak clip. Any tips on how to carry optimally with such a holster, opinions, or drawbacks would be appreciated. I have done some research and am considering buying a FoxX IWB hybrid holster. Any opinions on those as well? I am fairly new to the CC world and trying to learn all I can.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I'm not sure what "works fine" in an Uncle Mike's anything constitutes, but I would never consider recommending or using anything they make for concealed carry. I'm no fan of Crossbreed type hybrids, either, but understand their widespread popularity. Here is the holster I wear, and recommend:
    The Brommeland Max-Con V, (arguably) The Best IWB Holster On The Planet - YouTube
    "When you have to shoot, shoot, don't talk."
    Tuco

Senior Moderator
    The only Uncle Mikes holster that i use with any regularity is a pocket holster

If you are on a budget (who isn't) I recommend Stage 3 - Inside the Waistband - Hip - Gun Holster Kit - Old Faithful Holsters | Old Faithful Holsters there kits can save you some $$$$
    “You can sway a thousand men by appealing to their prejudices quicker than you can convince one man by logic.”

― Robert A. Heinlein,

For an IWB on a budget you might want to check out the "BaseMax" from White Hat Holsters $39.50 BaseMax IWB Holster - Cowhide or Horsehide leather backings or for a little more you could get the "MaxTuck" MaxTuck IWB Holster - Cowhide or Horsehide leather backings

I have the MaxTuck Horsehide and love it.