Why Plastic?[kydex]

Why Plastic?[kydex]

This is a discussion on Why Plastic?[kydex] within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have very little experience with plastic holsters so Humor me a little. I'm having a hard time seeing the attraction to Kydex, unless its ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Why Plastic?[kydex]

Distinguished Member Array dangerranger's Avatar

Why Plastic?[kydex]

I have very little experience with plastic holsters so Humor me a little. I'm having a hard time seeing the attraction to Kydex, unless its just the cost. I carried 30 years ago [before Id heard of a plastic holster] and have just now reapplied for a new license. In looking at holsters and a lot of the new stuff coming out has at least part of it made of plastic.

Now I can see that plastic will hold its shape without the added thickness of layered leather, but aren't they loud [rattle's] ? I have a kydex knife sheath that I had to add some rubber to it to keep it quiet. Are they hard on gun finishes? I live where dust and grit are a constant problem. My sons Kimber is already needing a new finish from holster wear after only two years of every day wear.

So am I thinking too much into this or is plastic really the way to go? DR

I am relatively new to Kydex, but I am a big fan now. They are cheaper than the leather ones, generally speaking, and in my experience do hold their shape better. I have 3 hybrids and 1 pure Kydex and I have had exactly zero rattling issues.

I do think they may be harder on the finish, but I will defer to others with more experience on that. I have no guns that aren't straight up tools, so I am not as concerned about the finish as some might be.
    I have a very strict gun control policy: if there's a gun around, I want to be in control of it.
    Clint Eastwood

I love Tiberius/Maggie.