Theis -vs- Old Faithful

This is a discussion on Theis -vs- Old Faithful within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm relatively new to concealed carry and I've gone through the usual trials and tribulations with holsters deciding how I want to carry by Glock27. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Theis -vs- Old Faithful

Theis -vs- Old Faithful

I'm relatively new to concealed carry and I've gone through the usual trials and tribulations with holsters deciding how I want to carry by Glock27. I've posted a couple of adventure posts already and I wanted to share something with other newbies (and maybe some old timers will enjoy this as well).

After going through the various options... paddle holster, OWB, I finally gave IWB a shot and after doing my research I went with a Theis (pronounced 'tice') Theisholsters.com | Photo Gallery | Custom IWB Holsters

I received my holster in 2 weeks, and within 3 days of wearing it I was hooked. Very comfortable, even though I never thought I'd be an IWB guy. Couldn't have been happier.

In the meantime, I had also placed an order for an Old Faithful Stage 3 kit, they were having a 20% sale so I figured I'd see how I liked the thicker kydex they use. Hip Holster | Gun Hip Holsters | Old Faithful Holsters

I received the Old Faithful mid-last week and when I took it out of the package I noticed 2 things...

1) the Old Faithful was considerably larger (wider) and
    2) the leather was quite a bit thicker (which I knew would be the case)

(see attached pics)DPP_2628.jpgDPP_2632.JPGDPP_2633.JPGDPP_2634.JPG

Immediately, I thought to myself "Well Iggy, you wasted a few dollars, should have quit while you were ahead"

But I assembled the kit and decided to give it a shot. Wow, was I shocked... the Old Faithful is even more comfortable than the Theis. More comfortable for me, Iggy, maybe not for everyone. I've heard great things about both.