how much of pistol covered OWB?

This is a discussion on how much of pistol covered OWB? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm looking at OWB holsters, really tight to the body. A lot of designs that i've seen leave the muzzle uncovered. My thinking is that ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: how much of pistol covered OWB?

I'm looking at OWB holsters, really tight to the body. A lot of designs that i've seen leave the muzzle uncovered. My thinking is that it could leave the weapon open to scratches/damage? I was looking at some of the Don Hume slide/ Barsony holsters. Maybe a pancake style holster? I'm really new to CCW, and am going through the learning process like everyone else :) So far I've had good luck with Remora, and Blackhawk pocket holsters, but i want a tighter/secure fit. I'm not so sure about IWB like Supertuk at this time.

Re: how much of pistol covered OWB?

If you are worried about your carry gun getting dinged up then leave it in the safe. If you carry your gun daily, it will show wear over time and there is no way around that.

+1
    If it's a collectors item, keep it in the safe. If you wear it consider it a tool, not a collectors item. Tools get dirty and scratches some times.

That's hard for me! Old school, didn't grow up with much, and try to keep my stuff nice. Really hard to change :)

None of my holsters expose the tip of my firearm, and they all ride tight against the body. (High Noon and Fist holsters)
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]