Grip Safety Cover

Grip Safety Cover

This is a discussion on Grip Safety Cover within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to this so I'm nervous. I think that I've decided to purchase a Springfield XD 9mm. I don't like that it doesn't have ...

Thread: Grip Safety Cover

Grip Safety Cover

I'm new to this so I'm nervous.

I think that I've decided to purchase a Springfield XD 9mm. I don't like that it doesn't have a safety "switch," but feel OK given the dual safeties of the trigger and grip.

However, do they make a holster that provides some sort of cover for the 1911/XD style grip safety?

I have this image of the trigger safety being depressed, because if the trigger is pulled the trigger safety automatically goes with it, and putting my hand on the grip of the gun resulting in it just going off.

I guess there's not much way that the trigger could be pulled while in a sturdy leather holster, though, right?

no unless you decide to reholster with finger on trigger other wise it should be a issue i carried a xd for about 6 months

I thought there was still a safety "in between" those two. Even if you depress the grip safety, you still have to pull the trigger for a good .25in before the firing pin safety disengages. It basically like a glock, only that the XD has the grip safety feature.

Senior Member Array Eric Larsen's Avatar
    Ok...youre new at this. Relax....take a deep breath and say "OOHHMM!" Any good holster that covers the trigger guard is really all you need. K? Everyone of us felt the kind of anxiety you have when we first started carrying. It will go away in time.

Trust me..........I once played a Dr on TV! Seriously I did! :D

Shoot well and god bless
    If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice..........Rush

Distinguished Member Array AnimalKracker's Avatar