Driving with Holster

This is a discussion on Driving with Holster within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a newbie desperately trying to get used to carrying. Driving with a gun digging into your side or back is not the most comfortable ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Driving with Holster

Driving with Holster

I'm a newbie desperately trying to get used to carrying. Driving with a gun digging into your side or back is not the most comfortable setup.

What do YOU do? Grin and bare it? Remove your holster? I'd like some ideas on how to best handle driving and sitting while carrying.

Thanks!!!

Always Carry, Never Tell
    S&W Shield 9mm
    Ruger LCP .380
    NRA Member
    Certified NRA Instructor

2. Remove Ads

I find this difficult with IWB which is why i HATE IWB. THe leather really takes a tole on your skin. I'm hoping that since I now ordered a REMORA holster, I can easily take off and put on the holster with ease.
    Glock 20sf, Glock 19 gen4, Glock 26 gen3, Colt 1911 Series 80

I installed a left handed OWB holster in my driver's door map pocket. It allows me to draw left handed, without obstructions, below the driver's window line-of-sight. It also leaves my right hand free to handle any "fancy" driving required to get the heck outta' there! I just transfer my G19 back to my IWB after I unbuckle my seat beat before I exit the car.
    NewtownSam likes this.
    There are only TWO kinds of people in this world; those who describe the world as filled with two kinds of people...and those who don't.

Quote Originally Posted by ghost tracker View Post
    I just transfer my G19 back to my IWB after I unbuckle my seat beat before I exit the car.
    I hear what you're saying. However, as a pilot, the most dangerous parts of flying are landing and taking off; I compare this to holstering and unholstering. The less you have to do of it, the safer you will be.