IWB holster comfort troubles

This is a discussion on IWB holster comfort troubles within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to concealed carry and will be taking my class soon. To get used to the weight of the gun, I've been carrying ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: IWB holster comfort troubles

I am new to concealed carry and will be taking my class soon. To get used to the weight of the gun, I've been carrying it around the house (which is legal in my state.) I'm having some comfort problems and wanted to see if it is the holster or just me not being used to it.

My gun is a .38 special S&W snubbie. I purchased a holster advertised to not need a belt as I do not normally wear a belt. My other typical clothes lend to concealed carry. I carry about the 4 o'clock position and at first it feels very comfortable, but after several hours my lower back hurts or it creates pressure points. I'm wondering if the holster is not fitting my body type, I'm positioning it badly from inexperience, I should wear a belt or I'm just not used to the weight.

Thank you for any advice.
    Johnny

From threads I've read on DC the consciences is "get a good belt" therefore, I vote for adding a belt.
    Praise the Lord my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle --- Psalm 144

Ruger owners check our sister forum http://rugerpistolforums.com a great site to share and learn about your Ruger pistols.

What holster?

My advice, initially, is to keep doing what you're doing... Maybe, try out a bunch of things.

About the belt thing, I think it's one of the most important parts of IWB carry. I personally don't see how folks IWB carry without a belt... to each his own... i guess. A good belt is key to comfort to me. I think a bunch of folks will pay more for a good belt than for their actual holster.

Have fun!