Holster materials

Holster materials

This is a discussion on Holster materials within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; What type of leather, or other material, is the best for IWB, OWB and other types of holsters? Do you favor one over the other ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Holster materials

What type of leather, or other material, is the best for IWB, OWB and other types of holsters? Do you favor one over the other and why?

DC Founder
    I have leather (cowhide, I assume), Kydex and nylon. I lean heavily towards leather for IWB although I have a Kydex that is reasonably comfortable. OWB I have leather and nylon. They both have their place, I like leather. I do like the Serpa that APachon had a link for for OWB, though. That looks pretty versatile for the rare occasion I carry OWB.

HighFever
    I have limited experience but use nylon. I like the Kydex ones I have seen and may try one next. I just can\'t afford a custom leather right now.

Ive tried leather and kydex. I am currently and always recommend Kydex. It is thinner and more impervious to persperation and chemicals than leather. It doesnt sqeak and doesnt rot out. I am currently carrying in a CompTac CTAC. it has small leather tabs for flexability...so I guess Id have to say I carry in both :)

I also carry in a Smartcarry...so I guess Id have to say denim as well!!

Ive tried both and right now i find leather just fits me better making easyer to hide gun ...
    Also its more comfortable for me ..

I like Kydex.

Administrator

Leather

I\'m a leather guy. I\'ve worked doing serious leather work for a long time & so (I Admit It) - I\'m very biased toward leather holsters, accessories & belts.
    I think properly constructed & nicely finished leather holsters are beautiful as well as being utilitarian.
    There is plenty of room in the world for good quality holsters made from all materials (natural & synthetic) though.