Holster break in ?

Holster break in ?

This is a discussion on Holster break in ? within the Defensive Carry Holsters & Carry Options forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Got me a new custom leather owb holster delivered today (I can post pics in a bit) and I have a quick question. It's darn ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Holster break in ?

Holster break in ?

Got me a new custom leather owb holster delivered today (I can post pics in a bit) and I have a quick question.

It's darn tight, as in retention I mean. Have to struggle with it to draw. Care instructions from the maker says that I should lightly wet the inside of the holster with a spray bottle, holster the pistol (while it's still wet) and put the whole thing in a zip lock bag for 24 hours if it's too snug.

Anyone else think it's a bad idea to put your pistol away, wet, in a zip lock bag over night?

I'm not an expert gunsmith or anything, but I was always told to keep those things dry. This sounds just down right crazy to me.

Why not let the gun just sit in the holster for a couple days, then do a handful of "test" drawing/reholstering? Might well be all that it needs.

If you absolutely, positively can't get any improvement without a bit of help, the thin baggie approach is a method that some find useful. The risk is, it can loosen up a gun just enough to the point of being too much, if you're not careful. A little bit goes a long way, here. (And, with most holsters, there's no real going back, as there's no tensioning screw if you screw it up.)
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, SAF, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.